Communications Department

National Right to Life Praises Geneva Consensus Declaration

Oct 30, 2020 | 2020 Press Releases, Press Releases, Press Room

WASHINGTON — The countries of Brazil, Egypt, Hungary, Indonesia, Uganda, and the United States co-sponsored a virtual gathering in Washington on October 22 to sign the Geneva Consensus Declaration. Thirty-three countries representing 1.6 billion people signed the Declaration stating that “there is no international right to abortion.”

“This Declaration reaffirms that ‘every human being has the inherent right to life,’” stated Carol Tobias, president of National Right to Life. “This is a fundamental belief that must undergird how the United States and signatory member states approach women’s health issues around the world and how the United Nations should approach these issues.”

The Geneva Consensus Declaration is comprised of four “pillars”:

*better health for women

*the preservation of human life

*strengthening of family as the foundational unit of society

*protecting every nation’s national sovereignty in global politics.

In his remarks, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said, “Under President Trump’s leadership, the United States has defended the dignity of human life everywhere and always. He’s done it like no other President in history. We’ve also mounted an unprecedented defense of the unborn abroad. … Today, we’re taking the next step, as we sign the Geneva Consensus Declaration. At its very core, the Declaration protects women’s health, defends the unborn, and reiterates the vital importance of the family as the foundation of society.”

Countries signing the Declaration include:

Kingdom of Bahrain, Republic of Belarus, Republic of Benin, Federative Republic of Brazil (cosponsor), Burkina Faso, Republic of Cameroon, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Republic of Djibouti, Arab Republic of Egypt (cosponsor), Kingdom of Eswatini, Republic of The Gambia, Georgia, Republic of Haiti, Hungary (cosponsor), Republic of Indonesia (cosponsor), Republic of Iraq, Republic of Kenya, State of Kuwait, State of Libya, Republic of Nauru, Republic of Niger, Sultanate of Oman, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Republic of Poland, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Republic of Senegal, Republic of South Sudan, Republic of Sudan, Republic of Uganda (cosponsor), United Arab Emirates, United States of America (cosponsor), Republic of Zambia

The Geneva Consensus Declaration can be found here.

Founded in 1968, the National Right to Life Committee (NRLC), the federation of 50 state right-to-life affiliates and more than 3,000 local chapters, is the nation’s oldest and largest grassroots pro-life organization. Recognized as the flagship of the pro-life movement, NRLC works through legislation and education to protect innocent human life from abortion, infanticide, assisted suicide and euthanasia.