NRL News
202.626.8824
dadandrusk@aol.com

NV Senate Passes SB261 By One Vote

by | May 24, 2017

Two Democrats Oppose. One Republican Supports. Governor Sandoval Opposes.

Editor’s note. This update comes for Nevada Right to Life, NRLC’s state affiliate.

There is a setback last night on SB261 Assisted Suicide. Before that, thank you for receiving our alerts, spreading the word, giving your opinion, sending emails or making calls to legislators on several bills. There hasn’t been a legislative session like this in many years. This legislative session has about two weeks left. We will be requesting your help several more times. Thank you for your willingness to be a voice and personal advocate for the pro-life cause.

Today, SB261, a bill to allow assisted suicide, passed in the Nevada Senate by one vote, 11-10. One Republican, Pete Goicoechea, voted for it, and two Democrats, Majority Leader Aaron Ford and President pro Tempore Mo Denis voted against it. Senator Ben Kieckhefer was an original sponsor but voted against SB261. Click here to see how the Senators voted.

Governor Sandoval’s spokesperson says he opposes the policy.

SB261 still has a long way to go. The bill will be sent to the Assembly. It must pass out of an Assembly committee, be voted upon by the Assembly and then sent to the Governor if it passes. There is not much time left. We’ll keep you informed. The Governor has said he opposes the policy.

Please thank the Senators who opposed SB261 today. We’ve included information in the “Action Points” section below. Thank you for your support and for being an advocate for the pro-life cause, the most important human rights cause of our generation.

 

Actions Points for SB261 Doctor Assisted Suicide

1. Please thank the following Senators for their votes against SB261, Assisted Suicide. (You can copy and paste these email addresses and send a message to all senators at once.)

Moises.Denis@sen.state.nv.us, Aaron.Ford@sen.state.nv.us,Michael.Roberson@sen.state.nv.us, Don.Gustavson@sen.state.nv.us,Scott.Hammond@sen.state.nv.us, Joe.Hardy@sen.state.nv.us,Becky.Harris@sen.state.nv.us, Ben.Kieckhefer@sen.state.nv.us,Heidi.Gansert@sen.state.nv.us, James.Settelmeyer@sen.state.nv.us

2. If you have not already done so, please email Governor Sandoval and tell him that you oppose SB261 (assisted suicide). Please thank him for his public opposition to the policy and ask him to veto SB261. To email the governor, go to gov.nv.gov/Contact/Email-the-Governor/ and scroll down the page. Your emails are important to keeping doctor assisted suicide out of Nevada. Try another time if the Governor’s email page is down.

3. If you have not already done so, please register your opposition to Doctor Assisted Suicide on the legislative website.

Categories: Legislation