NRL News
202.626.8824
dadandrusk@aol.com

Shady Shenanigans at the Nevada Legislature

by | Jun 3, 2019

DON’T LET DIRTY POLITICS WIN — NO ON SJR8

Please Take Action!

Will our pro-life legislators stand for life or fall for shady NARAL shenanigans? Email them right away and let them know you stand with them and you expect them to stand with you! Tell them to say NO TO SHADY BACKROOM DEALS designed to hurt pro-life candidates. Tell them to say NO TO TAX PAYER FUNDED ABORTIONS. NO TO SJR8.

Individual emails listed at the end.

Could they get any shadier:

At 10:27pm Thursday, May 30th, 4 days before the end of session, as a sop to big abortion donors represented by National Abortion Rights Action League and an attempt to mischaracterize pro-life legislators, Majority Leader Nicole Cannizzaro dropped an “emergency bill” without any warning.

What was the emergency? THE NEXT ELECTION, under the guise of a constitutional amendment SJR8 that reads:

Sec. 24. Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by this State or any of its political subdivisions on account of race, color, creed, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, age, disability, ancestry or national origin.

Such Equal Rights Amendments are how NARAL and ACLU plan to destroy all state and federal limitations on abortion including parental involvement, tax-payer funding bans, and even partial birth abortion bans. Click here to download a memo from National Right to Life with background.

With less than 24 hours notice, after waiting for 5.5 hours, at 5:45 on a Friday night, the hearing for SJR8 started. They took a recess after hearing many articulate citizens, mostly women opposing this sneaky measure, who yet again, outnumbered the paid for lobbyists provided by the other side. While our people went for dinner, the committee adjourned, usually an indication that the measure will be taken up the next day. After 11pm, behind the bar of the senate, away from public view, they snuck back in to session and passed the measure out. It will be voted on by the full Senate this morning. Please email right away.

They will say, this is a constitutional amendment therefore they will have more than enough time to consider this next session as it has to go through them twice and then to a vote of the people. THEY JUST ROBBED YOU OF 50% OF YOUR ABILITY TO INFLUENCE THIS QUESTION!

If it is an emergency, why this rushed and secretive process?

Please email Jill.Tolles@asm.state.nv.us and Lisa.Krasner@asm.state.nv.us and tell them to stand for their pro-life values and vote no on SJR8. Also email

James.Settelmeyer@sen.state.nv.us
Moises.Denis@sen.state.nv.us
Heidi.Gansert@sen.state.nv.us
Scott.Hammond@sen.state.nv.us
Ira.Hansen@sen.state.nv.us
Joe.Hardy@sen.state.nv.us
Ben.Kieckhefer@sen.state.nv.us
Keith.Pickard@sen.state.nv.us
Marilyn.DonderoLoop@sen.state.nv.us
Dallas.Harris@sen.state.nv.us
James.Ohrenschall@sen.state.nv.us
Chris.Brooks@sen.state.nv.us
Yvanna.Cancella@sen.state.nv.us
Joyce.Woodhouse@sen.state.nv.us
Marcia.Washington@sen.state.nv.us
Pete.Goicoechea@sen.state.nv.us

Categories: Legislation
Tags: Nevada